Senate Confirms CBN Monetary Committee


The Senate on Thursday plenary confirmed the appointment of 12 persons as members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

This confirmation comes after the consideration of  a report of the Committee On Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions Committee of the CBN .

The members of the committee are:

1. Olayemi Cardoso – Chairman

2. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi – Member

3. Bala M. Bello – Member

4. Emem Usoro – Member

5. Philip Ikeazor – Member

6. Lamido Yuguda — Member

7. Jafiya Lydia Shehu – Member

8. Murtala Sabo Sagagi – Member

9. Aloysius Uche Ordu – Member

10. Aku Pauline Odinkemelu – Member

11. Mustapha Akinwumi – Member

12. Bandele A.G. Amoo – Member

The confirmation of the new MPC members comes days to the first policy meeting of the apex bank under the new CBN governor. The meeting has been slated for February 26 and 27, 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here